Spanish News

Spain government to have 5 members from anti-austerity party

todayJanuary 14, 2020 1

share close

The new coalition government will include five members from the left-wing, anti-austerity Podemos party and three of its four deputy prime ministers will be women.

Podemos leader Pablo Iglesias will be the deputy prime minister in charge of social rights and sustainable development.

His fellow party heavyweight, and wife, Irene Montero becomes the minister of equality.

Also from Podemos, Yolanda Díaz will be minister of employment; Alberto Garzón, Health minister and Manuel Castells, minister of universities.

The other three deputy prime ministers will be women from Sánchez´s PSOE Socialists.

Carmen Calvo will keep her position as Sánchez´s No. 2, Nadia Calviño, until now the economy minister, becomes deputy prime minister in charge of economic issues and the country´s digital transformation.

Teresa Ribera will be deputy prime minister tasked with environmental protection and demographic planning.

Maria Jesus Montero has been reappointed as budget minister, the remaining Cabinet posts are also expected to be filled from the PSOE ranks and will be announced in coming days

Written by: BayRadio News

Rate it

Ctra. Cabo La Nao, CC La Nao, Local 6 03730 Javea, Alicante, Spain

Phone: (+34) 965 796 761
Advertise with us

Do you have a business in Spain? Do you provide a service to the expat community in Spain? Would you like your message to reach over 500.000 people on a weekly basis? 

BayRadio is a community orientated radio station offering fantastic content to our many listeners and followers across our various platforms. Contact us now and find out what Bay can do for you!

Our business is helping your business grow.

Playing now

Weekend Breakfast

with Mark Deakin
Sign up to newsletter

By submitting your email you agree to BayRadio T&Cs