Travel restrictions and quarantines on travellers returning from Spain to western European countries – updated daily

todayAugust 25, 2020

share close

Austria: EU/EEA/Swiss citizens arriving from mainland Spain and (as of 24th August) Balearic Islands must produce medical certificate proving negative COVID-19 PCR test OR get tested within 48 hours in Austria and self-isolate until test results arrive.

Belgium: Travellers are banned from visiting the autonomous region’s of Aragon, Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Madrid and Navarra; provinces of Almería (Andalucía), Burgos and Soria (Castilla y León), Barcelona and Lleida (Cataluña). Travellers must self-isolate or provide a negative PCR test result if arriving from the autonomous region’s of Asturias, Cantabria, Extremadura, La Rioja, Murcia and Valencia; provinces of Albacete, Ciudad Real, Guadalajara and Toledo (Castilla la Mancha), Palencia, Salamanca, Segovia, Valladolid and Zamora (Castilla y León), Gerona and Tarragona (Cataluña), La Coruña (Galicia), Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote (Canary Islands), Melilla. The remaining areas of Spain are coloured ‘green’ and safe to travel to without restriction.

Denmark: The Danish government have ‘banned’ travellers from visiting Spain. Their restrictions state a traveller may only enter Denmark with a ‘worthy purpose’.

France: There are no restrictions on travellers from Spain entering France. Travellers must however sign a declaration that they do not have COVID-19 symptoms, and will be provided information about self-isolation.

Germany: The German government has declared Spain a high-risk country, meaning travellers must undergo a PCR test or self-isolate for 14 days.

Ireland: All travellers returning to Spain from Ireland must self-isolate for 14 days.

Italy: Any travellers entering Italy from Spain must undertake a rapid antibody test within 72 hours before departure, and then within 48 hours of arriving. No quarantine necessary.

Netherlands: Travellers arriving from Spain must undergo 10 days self-isolation upon returning to the Netherlands, or provide a negative PCR test.

Norway: Travellers arriving from Spain must undergo 14 days self-isolation upon returning to Norway.

Portugal: No travel restrictions in place.

Sweden: No travel restrictions in place.

Switzerland: Travellers returning from Switzerland from Spain (not including Canary Islands) must undergo mandatory self-isolation for 10 days upon arrival.

United Kingdom: The UK government has advised against all but essential travel to Spain. Travellers returning to the UK from return will be required to self-isolate on arrival.

Written by: BayRadio News

Rate it

Ctra. Cabo La Nao, CC La Nao, Local 6 03730 Javea, Alicante, Spain

Phone: (+34) 965 796 761
Advertise with us

Do you have a business in Spain? Do you provide a service to the expat community in Spain? Would you like your message to reach over 500.000 people on a weekly basis? 

BayRadio is a community orientated radio station offering fantastic content to our many listeners and followers across our various platforms. Contact us now and find out what Bay can do for you!

Our business is helping your business grow.

Playing now

Kal In The Afternoon

featuring various guests
Sign up to newsletter

By submitting your email you agree to BayRadio T&Cs