menu Home

Quarantine for airport arrivals

BayRadio | March 5, 2021

Spain is to impose quarantine restrictions on airport arrivals from 12 countries to fight he spread of the South African and Brazilian variants of Covid-19.

From Monday March 8, passengers arriving from any airport located in Brazil, South frica, Botswana, Union of Comoros, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Peru and Colombia, must observe a mandatory control.

The move comes after the ‘British’ strain of the coronavirus continues to spread. In Valencia the mutation, first identified in Kent, is responsible for one in five new infections in the Valencia region.

As a result, people entering Spain or Andorra by ship or plane from the United Kingdom are limited to Spanish citizens or residents.

And the expanded controls mean travellers from the 12 listed countries must remain in isolation for 10 days following their arrival, or for an entire stay if it is for a shorter period – this can be reduced with a negative test on the seventh day of confinement.

The Ministry of Health order will remain in force for 14 calendar days from March 8. People must stay at their home or accommodation, limiting travel to buy food, visits to the pharmacy, and health services.

Written by BayRadio

  • Listen Live


  • Download BayRadio APP