COVID-19 restrictions today Wednesday 17th March

todayMarch 17, 2021 5

share close

Today, Wednesday, March 17, at least 7 autonomous communities release the restrictions proposed by the Government for the puente of San Jose and Easter. The Valencian Community, the Basque Country, Navarra, Murcia, Madrid, Galicia and Extremadura, where Friday 19 is festive, apply the new measures against the COVID-19 from today.

Thus, the autonomous communities begin to shield themselves against the arrival of the puente of San José next weekend and, above all, Easter, with plans and anticovid measures that propose perimeter closures in all the autonomies, except the Balearic and Canary Islands, and reaffirm curfews and limitations on social gatherings.

The Community of Madrid has filed an appeal against the perimeter closure of the region on the puente of San José and Easter, pointing out that there was no consensus when taking this decision in the Interterritorial Health Council. The Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands are the two Autonomous Communities with no restrictions on mobility. See below the measures in each autonomous community in force today, Wednesday 17 March.


The Community of Madrid only applies mobility limitations in a single basic health zone, Morata de Tajuña, but maintains the general restrictions of the region, such as the night curfew or the prohibition of meeting between people not living in the same household.

Morata de Tajuña, Valle de la Oliva and Soto del Rey are the three basic health areas out of the total of 286 in the region that have a cumulative incidence of more than 400 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, the threshold set by the regional executive together with other criteria for imposing mobility restrictions.


The Generalitat has decided to relax the restrictions in the face of the decrease in coronavirus infections. There is no county confinement, although you can only leave the town in a group of people from the same household. Curfew is between 22.00 and 06.00.


The Xunta will maintain 3 of the 313 Galician municipalities from next Friday at the maximum level of restrictions, Vilardevós, Paradela and Maside. It is the decision of the clinical committee that advises the Xunta in the management of the coronavirus pandemic. High level of restrictions in other 7 localities, which are Sobrado, Soutomaior, Boborás, A Mezquita, Pontecesures, Neda and Arteixo.

País Vasco

Perimeter closure. Curfew from 20:00 to 6:00 hours. Closing of the hospitality sector from 20:00 to 6:00 hours, maximum capacity of 50% inside and 100% on the terraces.


Perimeter closure. Curfew between 22:00 and 6:00 hours to stop coronavirus infections. Meetings of up to 6 people are allowed.


Curfew between 23:00 and 6:00. Perimeter closure. The hospitality industry is allowed to open the interior of the establishments with a capacity limitation of 30%.

Canarias y Baleares

The Canary Islands, like the Balearic Islands, are exempt from being closed peripherally, as are the other autonomous communities under the plan agreed by Sanidad and the councillors of each region to prevent a fourth wave of coronavirus.

Ceuta y Melilla

In Ceuta travel is only allowed for justified reasons and mobility is prohibited between 22:00 and 6:00 hours. Meetings are for a maximum of 4 people in both public and private spaces. And in Melilla the perimeter closure is maintained, curfew from 22:00 to 6:00. Maximum 4 people in spaces of public use and only coexisting in spaces of private use.


Confinement of some municipalities according to the accumulated incidence of coronavirus. Curfew between 22:00 and 6:00 hours. Restricted entry and exit of people from the community, except for justified reasons.


Cantabria maintains the closure of the autonomous community by the coronavirus. The curfew is from 23:00 hours and social gatherings allow a maximum of 6 people.


Andalusia lifts the perimeter closure but continues with it in 28 Andalusian municipalities. Commercial activity until 21:30 hours and hospitality in the zones in level 2 of alert, which is the case of five of the capitals, Cordoba, Jaen, Malaga, Huelva and Seville. The curfew is from 22:00 to 6:00 hours and the limitation of social groups is a maximum of six people.

Castilla y León

Perimeter closure. The hospitality sector has opened the interior, without bar service and with reduced capacity, also shopping centers and gyms. Meetings limited to four people.

Castilla-La Mancha

Perimeter closure. Curfew between 22:00 and 7:00. Social gatherings of a maximum of 6. Shops and non-essential activities can open until 21:30 hours. For Easter, between March 26 and April 9, it has already been announced that the curfew will be at 23:00 hours and the hospitality is open until the same time.

Written by: BayRadio News

Rate it

Ctra. Cabo La Nao, CC La Nao, Local 6 03730 Javea, Alicante, Spain

Phone: (+34) 965 796 761
Advertise with us

Do you have a business in Spain? Do you provide a service to the expat community in Spain? Would you like your message to reach over 500.000 people on a weekly basis? 

BayRadio is a community orientated radio station offering fantastic content to our many listeners and followers across our various platforms. Contact us now and find out what Bay can do for you!

Our business is helping your business grow.

Playing now

Kal In The Afternoon

featuring various guests
Sign up to newsletter

By submitting your email you agree to BayRadio T&Cs